Happy First Birthday, Isaiah!

Hospital
My baby is one.

Whew, even typing that makes me teary-eyed. I have been an emotional wreck this week. I think a big part of it is knowing that this will be Isaiah’s only birthday as our only baby. And that makes me feel really guilty. Josephine will probably get the short end of the stick all of the time as the second-born, but Isaiah is getting gilted of all of his one-on-one time with Mommy and Daddy so early in his life. Have I read him enough bedtime stories? Have I cuddled him to sleep enough? Have I responded quickly enough to his cries? Two more months and my attention to his needs will have to be split with Josie’s, and I am scared that I didn’t do enough in his first year to love on him while I only had him.

SmileyBaby

Not to mention how fast his first year went by. That sweet boy can walk (with help), crawl, clap, kiss, hug, wave goodbye, roll over, say 5 distinct words (mama, dada, baba, no, kitty), and has 8 teeth.

He’s smart, he’s stubborn, he’s serious, and he’s silly. Sometimes all at the same time. I can distinguish his cries to know when he’s whining, hungry, hurt, scared, etc. He has different types of smiles depending on his mood. It truly is like I blinked and the tiny infant put in my arms on April 13th became a boy with a complex personality.

IsaiahEaster5.JPG

I know we’re only beginning this journey, and I really have nothing to be sad about. But I can’t help feeling like a significant milestone has come and gone. He’s not really a baby anymore. He’s getting bigger, and there’s nothing I can do to keep him mine forever.

I want him to grow up, of course. I am excited to work with Chris to raise him into a successful man who will contribute great things to this world. Because he’s that smart. I know he will be brilliant one day,

But for now, on his first birthday, I just want to pull him out of his crib, cuddle him close,  and plead with him to stay my baby for just a little longer.

Mommy & Isaiah
Isaiah, you are so loved. Happy birthday, my sweet boy. We are so proud to be your parents. 

Signature

Leave a comment